Patience

            “I can’t wait for (fill in the blank) to happen.”  “It’s taking so long for (blank) to get here.” “I’ll be glad when (blank) is over.”  “How many more miles?”  “What is taking so long?”

            How many times have you heard those questions?  How many times have those words come out of your own mouth?  Probably as many as I have. 

            While it’s very normal to ask those kinds of questions, there is a line between just wondering and impatience.  During these past four years I found myself leaning more toward the impatience than the just wondering.  After Jenny’s death I couldn’t wait until the funeral was over.  Then I couldn’t wait until the sentencing was over.  All I wanted was the milestone dates to come and go so I could get on with my life.  I wanted the pain to subside sooner than later.

            I was doing pretty well until I decided to write this book.  This whole process created a new cycle of impatience in me.  When will the book cover be done?  What about the editing?  Will people like it?  Did I get my point across?  When will it finally be done and go on sale?  Again, there’s nothing wrong with asking questions but when those questions get in the way of trusting God, that is a problem. 

            Galatians 5:22-23 list the fruits of the Spirit.  They are ‘love, joy, peace PATIENCE, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.  In my experience, when you pray for patience God answers it by making you wait for something.  Usually wait and patiently go together in a sentence.  There’s really nothing difficult about waiting, it’s how we act while waiting that determines whether we are patient or not. 

            From my experience, the sooner I decide to wait patiently, the sooner two things happen.  One is I have peace about the situation and second, my faith grows that much stronger.  Patience and waiting on God go hand in hand with trust.  Trust only comes when we surrender the situation to God.  He is the only one who can do anything about it anyway so why worry yourself with something you can’t control?

            Every time I get impatient and want answers regarding the book, I hear God’s still, small voice reminding me to be patient.  It’ll happen when it’s supposed to happen.  Until then I should enjoy the ride and be at peace knowing the God of the universe is in control.  What other assurance do I need?   

           

           

           

Leave a Reply

